search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by
  • News
  • Local News
  • FMU’s Kyer, Wittmann-Price named Trustee Research Scholars

FMU’s Kyer, Wittmann-Price named Trustee Research Scholars

on Wednesday, 30 September 2015. Posted in Education, Local News

Dr. Ben Kyer, professor of economics, and Dr. Ruth Wittmann-Price, chair of the Department of Nursing, have been named Board of Trustee Research Scholars by Francis Marion University. The 13-year-old program recognizes and rewards outstanding research at FMU. Trustee Research Scholars receive a salary supplement and will see a reduced teaching load. The latter allows the scholars to devote still more time to research.

Trustee Research Scholars are selected because of demonstrated excellence in, and commitment to, research in their field. The designation signifies outstanding scholarly achievements and the promise of continued scholarly activity in the future. It is FMU’s highest ongoing faculty honor. The FMU Board of Trustees has approved a standing group of 12 research scholars. New scholars are appointed when others retire.

FMU President Dr. Luther F. Carter made the selections after consultation with the university’s provost and the chair of the faculty senate. He says this year’s designees exemplify what the program is all about. “The program was established to promote and enrich the environment for academic research at FMU,” says Carter. “Ben and Ruth are two of our most esteemed faculty members. Adding them to the list of Trustee Research Scholars is an appropriate recognition for their many accomplishments.” Kyer joined the FMU faculty in 1989.

He was an assistant professor of economics at Berry College in Rome, Ga., prior to coming to FMU. He earned the B.S. in business administration from Glenville State College and the M.S. and Ph.D. in economics from West Virginia University. Kyer teaches principles of Macroeconomics, Intermediate Macroeconomics, History of Economic Thought, Public Finance, and MBA 705, Economic Analysis. He is the Benjamin W. Ingram, III Professor of Economics. His primary research interest is macroeconomics.

His work has appeared in The Journal of Macroeconomics, The Atlantic Economic Journal, Public Finance Quarterly, Journal of Economic Education, and The American Economist. Wittmann-Price joined the FMU faculty in 2010 after working as an assistant professor and coordinator for the Educational Track in the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at Drexel University. She received her AAS and BSN degrees from Felician College in Lodi, N.J. and her MS as a perinatal clinical nurse from Columbia University in New York.

She completed her Ph.D. at Widener University in Chester, Pa. Among her many accomplishments, Wittmann-Price is known for her mid-range nursing theory, “Emancipated Decision-Making in Women’s Health Care.” She has tested her theory in three research studies and it is now taught at institutions around the world. Besides continuing her research on decisional science, Wittmann-Price also studies developmental outcomes of pre-term infants. She has published numerous articles and has presented regionally, nationally and internationally.

The Research Scholar appointments are for three-year terms and are renewable. The two new appointees join Drs. Jeff Camper (biology), Fred David (business), Scott Kaufman (history), Lynn Kostoff (English), Leroy Peterson Jr. (chemistry), Jon Tuttle (English), Lisa Eargle (sociology), Chris Johnson (English), Derek Jokisch (physics), and Terry Roberts (fine arts) as research scholars.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.