search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by

Four awarded Carraway scholarships

on Tuesday, 22 June 2021. Posted in News, Education, Local News

Allison Carraway of the Terrence F. Carraway Foundation, left, Florence Police Chief Allen Heidler, Grace Myers of West Florence High School, and Daniel Blathers, Sgt. Carraway’s brother.

Chief Allen Heidler of the Florence Police Department and Allison Carraway of the Terrence F. Caraway Foundation recently awarded four area high school graduates with a Sgt. Terrence Carraway Memorial Scholarship during a small ceremony in the Florence City Council Chambers.

The 2021 recipients of the scholarship are Karson Byerly of Hartsville High School, Kristian Mack of Darlington High School, Grace Myers of West Florence High School, and Megan Atkinson of Lake City High School. Each graduate received $1,000 to go toward higher education expenses.

Established in January of 2019, this need-based scholarship honors the life and work of Sergeant Terrence Carraway, whose watch ended October 3, 2018. The joint effort by the Terrence F. Carraway Foundation and Florence Police Department is a commitment to the continuation of Terrence's passion to assist the youth in the Florence and Darlington areas to have a brighter future.

Byerly plans to attend Liberty University and major in film. Mack intends to major in sports management at Coastal Carolina University. Myers plans to attend Western Carolina University and major in forensic science. Atkinson intends to major in criminal justice at Clemson University.

The recipients of the scholarships were selected from school districts in Florence and Darlington counties. Winners were chosen based on a comprehensive review of their application, high school transcripts, SAT/ACT scores, and a 500-word essay. Information regarding this scholarship is provided each year to all of the Florence and Darlington school district guidance counselors.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.